It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of socks. And possibly also handkerchiefs. Possibly. For far from filling me with goodwill toward all men, tis the season that I despair of men. How often have you heard a man say that he wants ‘nothing’ for Christmas? Every single year. THIS ISN’T COMMUNIST-ERA RUSSIA, IT’S NOT LIKE THERE’S NOTHING ON THE SHELVES. THIS ISN’T HOW OUR CONSUMERIST CULTURE IS SUPPOSED TO WORK! But seriously, that’s not how Christmas is done. Christmas is supposed to be a time of giving so why are you denying me the pleasure of giving? You cannot honestly tell me you would be happy to receive nothing when everyone else around you is opening presents? I don’t think so.

So rest not merry gentlemen, let nothing you dismay, get out the Argos catalogue and start compiling a list.